SNACK LOG

  Give me something to !  


Welcome to the
SNACK LOG!
This is where I'll talk a little bit about all the neat snacks I've tried!

I plan to log snacks that are either
limited edition, foreign, or interesting in some way!
("Foreign" from the perspective of someone who lives in Canada)

I got the idea for this page from Eggie!
You should check out their Snack Gallery!



                    
Stella's Treats Orange Chocolate Bar
  Made by:  Stella's Treats
  From:  Canada
  Category:  Chocolate
  Flavor:  Orange
  Notes:  Another handmade chocolate bar from a small business, this one located right here in Newfoundland! Stella's Treats had a table set up at a local vendor's market that I visited with the non-proft I'm apart of, and after trying out a free sample of their Rum Butter bar (which was also really good!), I had to grab something to take home with me. I opted for this orange-flavored bar, as it's my all-time-favorite chocolate flavor, and I was definitely not disappointed!! There really is nothing like homemade treats. I wished afterwards that I had gotten one of their larger options!! Maybe next time!
                    
Limited Edition Goldfish Hello Kitty Grahams
  Made by:  Pepperidge Farm
  From:  United States
  Category:  Biscuit
  Flavor:  Strawberry Shortcake
  Notes:  These Hello Kitty Goldfish were released for Hello Kitty's 50th anniversary! I found them at the local Dollarama, and gasped when I saw them. I really liked the vanilla cupcake Goldfish when I tried them, so I figured these would be cute and tasty. I was absolutely correct! They have a sweet strawberry taste and two adorable shapes: the titular golfish, and a little Hello Kitty face!
                    
Kitkat Chunky Drumstick
  Made by:  Nestlé
  From:  Switzerland (widely international)
  Category:  Chocolate
  Flavor:  Drumstick ice cream
  Notes:  This Kitkat reminded me a lot of the taste of Kinder chocolate. It has a thin layer of creamy filling overtop of the usual Kitkat wafer inside, which gave the chocolate a bit more of a rich milky taste. Kinder chocolates are one of my favories, so I really enjoyed this! Did it taste much like Drumstick ice cream, though? No, not particularly. I'd still recommend it!
                    
Takis Intense Nacho (non-spicy)
  Made by:  Barcel
  From:  Mexico
  Category:  Tortilla Chips
  Flavor:  Nacho cheese
  Notes:  Though I've heard a lot about them, I've never actually tried Takis because I really don't like anything spicy. So, when I found these "non-spicy" nacho cheese Takis, I was super excited! Second chip flavor I tried while on a drive with some family. I really liked them! They're not like any other tortilla chip snack I've had before. The chips are denser than, say, a Dorito, and they had a very satisfying crunch. I'd definitely buy these again if I saw them!
                    
Ridgies Extra Honey BBQ
  Made by:  Old Dutch Foods
  From:  Canada
  Category:  Potato Chips
  Flavor:  Honey and barbeque
  Notes:  Found a couple new chip flavors while on a drive with some family. First was a bag of honey barbeque ridgies. I didn't even realize Old Dutch had "ridgies" to begin with! These weren't bad, though I'm not the biggest barbeque fan. Did you know Old Dutch started in Winnipeg, Manitoba, where I lived for a while? I never went inside the plant, but I did see it many times!
                    
Pukupuku Tai Taiyaki Strawberry Filled Monaka Wafer
  Made by:  Meito
  From:  Japan
  Category:  Biscuit
  Flavor:  Strawberry
  Notes:  This was the second flavor of these chocolate-filled monaka wafer snacks that I bought at the Freak Lunchbox, and it's just as good as the first. I couldn't possibly pick a favorite out of the two! I know a few more flavors exist, and I've now made it a personal goal of mine to try them all!
                    
Pukupuku Tai Taiyaki Chocolate Filled Monaka Wafer
  Made by:  Meito
  From:  Japan
  Category:  Biscuit
  Flavor:  Chocolate
  Notes:  This was so good. I knew that I would like it when I bought it at the Freak Lunchbox, but I wasn't expecting just how much I would like it. It's a taiyaki-shaped monaka wafer with a chocolate filling. The chocolate is very light, as it's filled with tiny air bubbles (imagine an Areo bar, but with even more bubbles!), and both it and the crisp wafer melt in your mouth. I found myself wishing I had bought more than just two!!
                    
International Delight Reese's Iced Coffee
  Made by:  Danone North America
  From:  United States
  Category:  Coffee
  Flavor:  Peanut butter cup
  Notes:  I cannot possibly explain how good this is. I found this at the Freak Lunchbox in St. Johns, Newfoundland, and had to buy one immediately! Reese's peanut butter cups have always been one of my favorite chocolate treats, and I have just recently begun to get into iced coffee, so I spotted this at the perfect time! It tastes exactly like Reese's, with an extra tinge of coffee bitterness. The real dairy mixed in makes it really creamy and rich. However, if you're sensitive to sweet things, something like this might need to be consumed slowly!
                    
Hello Panda Cheese Cookies
  Made by:  Meiji
  From:  Japan
  Category:  Cookie
  Flavor:  Cheese
  Notes:  I did not care for these at all. When I read "cheese flavor", I was expecting something salty, maybe savory. But when I actually tried them, I was surprised that the cookie itself was still sweet. I found I didn't really like the taste of the cheese-flavored cream combined with the sweetness of the cookie. These ones aren't for me. I'll stick to the strawberry!
                    
Choco Banana Pocky
  Made by:  Glico
  From:  Japan
  Category:  Biscuit
  Flavor:  Chocolate & Banana
  Notes:  This is my all-time favorite Pocky flavor so far. I was so excited when I first discovered it in a dollar store whilst visiting my aunts, and was not disappointed upon trying it. This is the first Pocky I've tried that actually has chocolate biscuit sticks instead of the usual plain ones, and it pairs perfectly with the light banana flavor! I know banana flavor tends to be a hit or miss for some, but I personally really like it!
                    
Mango Hi-Chew
  Made by:  Morinaga
  From:  Japan
  Category:  Candy
  Flavor:  Mango
  Notes:  I already knew I really liked hi-chews, so when I discovered they had a mango flavor, I didn't even hesitate to grab a pack! Just like the green apple, the mango flavor is suble, light, and very reminiscent of the actual fruit. I can't decide which I like better!
                    
Kitkat Hazelnut
  Made by:  Nestlé
  From:  Switzerland (widely international)
  Category:  Chocolate
  Flavor:  Hazelnut
  Notes:  Chocolate + hazelnut is the best combination, hands down! I knew I would love this kitkat bar the moment I saw it, and I was absolutely correct! Like the caramel bar, the hazelnut flavor is subtle, but far more noticible. Out of the two, this one is by far the superior choice!
                    
Kitkat Caramel
  Made by:  Nestlé
  From:  Switzerland (widely international)
  Category:  Chocolate
  Flavor:  Caramel
  Notes:  I grabbed both this and the hazelnut kitkat bar from a local store that tends to carry different and interesting chocolates, simply because I had never seen these flavors before. However, caramel isn't my usual go-to, so I wasn't expecting to care much for this one. Upon tasting it, though, I found it really wasn't that far removed from a regular kitkat bar. The caramel taste was very faint, though not completely unnoticable, so it was more akin to eating any regular kitkat!
                    
Konpeito
  Made by:  Kasugai
  From:  Japan
  Category:  Candy
  Flavor:  Sugar
  Notes:  An American friend of mine sent me a bag of this sugar/star candy after I expressed to her that I'd wanted to try it for some time. As the name implies, they are quite literally only sugar, with no added flavors. However, they're surprisingly mild-tasting. They're not my favorite candy, but they're certainly cute, and very iconic!
                    
Limited Edition Mickey Mouse 90th Birthday Oreos
  Made by:  Nabisco
  From:  United States
  Category:  Cookie
  Flavor:  Birthday Cake
  Notes:  These birthday cake oreos were released in 2018 for Mickey Mouse's 90th birthday. They had cute prints on the front of them‒Mickey's face, the number 90, and a party horn. While I like the theme, and the birthday cake flavor did taste good, I think I'd still prefer the original oreo over these ones!
                    
Cabotto Chocolate Bar
  Made by:  Cabotto Chocolates
  From:  Canada
  Category:  Chocolate
  Flavor:  Chocolate
  Notes:  After making the decision to move to Newfoundland, my parents and I also decided that instead of flying, we would drive there from Manitoba. That meant that we had multiple provinces to drive through in order to get to our new home. On the way, we stopped at a small store along the Cabot Trail in Nova Scotia, where they sold some chocolates from a local business, Cabotto Chocolates. I got this milk chocolate bar that looked like the beach. It tasted very good! The back of the bar has all of Cabotto Chocolates' information on it. You can click the image to see the info up close!
                    
Bourbon Petit Puchi Sandwich Cookies
  Made by:  Bourbon Japan
  From:  Japan
  Category:  Cookie
  Flavor:  Black cocoa and vanilla
  Notes:  I got this little sleeve of cookies at a small store in Winnipeg, Manitoba that sold a lot of Japanese goods. They're similar to Oreos, though they're much smaller, and have a stronger taste from the cocoa. Very yummy, and has a cute bear mascot on the front. Apparently, there are a lot of different flavors in the Bourbon Petit series, and each one has a bear with a color best matching the cookie inside!
                    
Galaxy Golden Eggs
  Made by:  Galaxy
  From:  United Kingdom
  Category:  Chocolate
  Flavor:  Chocolate
  Notes:  I actually don't recall where I got these from, but they were super cool! These milk chocolate eggs lived up to their name‒they were very golden! The golden dust came off on your fingers, and did feel a little bit waxy in my mouth, but they tasted good! Apparently there's a version called "Enchanted Eggs" that have bits of caramel in them. I wouldn't mind trying those someday!
                    
Hello Panda Strawberry Cookies
  Made by:  Meiji
  From:  Japan
  Category:  Cookie
  Flavor:  Strawberry
  Notes:  My favorite of the Hello Panda cookies‒at least the ones that I've tried. Can't beat strawberry! Sweet with just a little bit of a fruity flavor, mixed with the crunchy biscuit, it's a perfect combination!
                    
Hello Panda Vanilla Cookies
  Made by:  Meiji
  From:  Japan
  Category:  Cookie
  Flavor:  Vanilla
  Notes:  While these vanilla Hello Panda cookies are still good, I think I like the chocolate ones a little better. Usually I tend to be more of a vanilla guy, but there's just something about biscuit + chocolate that works so perfectly together!!
                    
Hello Panda Chocolate Cookies
  Made by:  Meiji
  From:  Japan
  Category:  Cookie
  Flavor:  Chocolate
  Notes:  These are honestly identical to the Yan Yan biscuit sticks, except the crème is inside a little panda-head-shaped cookie. Personally, I like this version better. Easier to eat, and much cuter! Not only are they shaped like panda heads, but they also have little panda cartoons printed on them!
                    
Yan Yan Cracker Sticks w/ Chocolate Crème
  Made by:  Meiji
  From:  Japan
  Category:  Biscuit
  Flavor:  Chocolate
  Notes:  These aren't bad! Similar concept to Pocky, except you dip the sticks instead. The sticks are a bit thicker than Pocky, and they have cute little animal and word prints on them!
                    
Almond Crush Pocky
  Made by:  Glico
  From:  Japan
  Category:  Biscuit
  Flavor:  Chocolate & almond
  Notes:  As a lover of chocolate + nut combos (almond, hazelnut, peanut...), these are one of my favs! There is one flavor I like more, but this one is a very close second!
                    
Cookies & Cream Pocky
  Made by:  Glico
  From:  Japan
  Category:  Biscuit
  Flavor:  Cookies & cream
  Notes:  I really like these! They taste exactly how you would think "cookies & cream" on an otherwise plain biscuit would taste. A little bit sweet, and crunchy. A level up from the chocolate or strawberry flavors!
                    
Apollo Strawberry Chocolate
  Made by:  Meiji
  From:  Japan
  Category:  Chocolate
  Flavor:  Strawberry
  Notes:  I literally love these chocolates so much. Back in highschool, a friend of mine, Haruka, was an exchange student from Japan. She brought these from home, and shared them with me at lunch once. They're so tasty, I desperately want to get my hands on them again! I have a little doodle that Haruka made of a mutual friend and I still saved in my old school binder.
                    
Yowie Chocolate
  Made by:  Yowie Group
  From:  Australia
  Category:  Chocolate
  Flavor:  Chocolate
  Notes:  These guys are similar to Kinder Eggs, in that they have a little capsule inside that houses a tiny toy. The difference being that these are 100% milk chocolate, and the toy inside is a little plastic animal, or a Yowie character! There's a handful of different character wrappers that you can choose from, and I chose three of them: Rumble, Crag, and Ditty! I actually did get one of the Yowie characters in one of them, though I don't recall which one anymore. I do still have him, I'd just need to locate him. Overall, a really cute little chocolate!! Also picked up from the World Market in North Carolina.
                    
Pineapple Ramune
  Made by:  Hata
  From:  Japan
  Category:  Soda
  Flavor:  Pineapple
  Notes:  My friend and I went to the World Market in North Carolina, and I got to grab a couple of treats I hadn't tried before! First is a ramune flavor I'd never tasted: Pineapple! Pineapple flavor is always a hit. I like this ramune the best, I think!
                    
Sweet Tea
  Made by:  N/A
  From:  United States
  Category:  Tea
  Flavor:  Tea
  Notes:  While I was in North Carolina, my friend and I went to a restaurant where I got to try sweet tea for the first time. I'm not really sure what I was expecting, but it really did just taste like cold tea with a lot of sugar in it. Not bad-tasting, but definitely strange. When it comes to "cold tea", I'm used to drinks like Brisk teas, or our "iced tea", that have added flavors besides simply... tea. It was an interesting experience, especially after hearing my American friends talk about it so much!
                    
Cheerwine
  Made by:  Carolina Beverage Corporation
  From:  United States
  Category:  Soda
  Flavor:  Black cherry
  Notes:  My very first time visiting America was in 2016 to meet a friend of mine. I went to North Carolina, and I was told that I had to try Cheerwine. It's apparently a North Carolina staple. It tastes really good! People compare it to Dr. Pepper, and I can see why. It's flavored like black cherry. I hope I can try it again someday!
                    
Fruit Salad Chews
  Made by:  Barrat
  From:  United Kingdom
  Category:  Candy
  Flavor:  Pineapple and raspberry
  Notes:  Another candy brought back by my Mom's coworker. This one was yummy! It's a chewy candy like the Black Jacks, but with a fruity flavor! I love pineapple candies, so I enjoyed these!
                    
Black Jack Chews
  Made by:  Barrat
  From:  United Kingdom
  Category:  Candy
  Flavor:  Aniseed
  Notes:  Another candy brought back by my Mom's coworker. It's basically a black licorice flavored chewy candy. Not a fan of this one!
                    
Sherbet Fountain
  Made by:  Barrat
  From:  United Kingdom
  Category:  Candy
  Flavor:  Lemon and licorice
  Notes:  Another candy brought back by my Mom's coworker. It's got a licorice stick inside that you dip into lemon sherbet powder. Interesting, but I'm not a big licorice fan. Apparently this is an old treat from the 70's!
                    
Curly Wurly
  Made by:  Cadbury
  From:  United Kingdom
  Category:  Chocolate
  Flavor:  Caramel
  Notes:  Someone who worked with my Mom would often go back home to the UK and bring back some treats for everyone in the workplace. She brought this back for me to try! It has a really fun shape, but it's ultimately just caramel chocolate. Tastes good!
                    
Melon Ramune
  Made by:  Kimura (?)
  From:  Japan
  Category:  Soda
  Flavor:  Melon
  Notes:  The last of my treats from my first anime convention! Subtle flavor and slight carbonation just like the original Ramune, but I like this one more! Not 100% certain which brand I actually tried, so I picked out a picture that seemed the most familiar.
                    
Original Ramune
  Made by:  Kimura (?)
  From:  Japan
  Category:  Soda
  Flavor:  "Original" (Lemon-lime)
  Notes:  Another new experience from my first anime convention. I love the gimmick of popping the marble, though I found it kind of difficult. Just like the Hi-Chew, the drink had a more subtle flavor, and only a mild carbonation, but I enjoyed it! Not 100% certain which brand I actually tried, so I picked out a picture that seemed the most familiar.
                    
Green Apple Hi-Chew
  Made by:  Morinaga
  From:  Japan
  Category:  Candy
  Flavor:  Green Apple
  Notes:  Got this chewy candy at my first anime convention as well. I love these!! They have a subtle flavor, and aren't overly sweet. Tastes more like actual apple than candy I'm used to!
                    
Strawberry Pocky
  Made by:  Glico
  From:  Japan
  Category:  Biscuit
  Flavor:  Strawberry
  Notes:  I tried this flavor at the same time as the chocolate Pocky. This one was my favorite flavor for years after, until I eventually got to try some others! Another convention staple!!
                    
Chocolate Pocky
  Made by:  Glico
  From:  Japan
  Category:  Biscuit
  Flavor:  Chocolate
  Notes:  A convention staple!! I tried this snack for the first time at my first anime convention. I had a great time, and I totally get the hype around Pocky! I like some other flavors better, but you can't go wrong with chocolate!
                    

BACK TO TOP